image

We all have heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. But why? Well, let’s start out with the word breakfast. It is a break from the fasting (or not eating) that went on the night before. Eating shortly after you wake up helps to get your metabolism started for the day. It is very important to me to start my day off right because it sets the tone for the rest of the day. My blood sugar levels stay even when I have at least 15g of protein at each meal or snack, complex carbs, and a veggie or healthy fat. So today I made scrambled eggs with avocado, and steel cut oats. This combo is delish and keeps me satisfied and energized. I like my eggs spicy, so I added crushed red peppers and hot sauce. Both of those ingredients help boost the metabolism as well. For a little flavor I added cinnamon and vanilla to the oats. This will definitely be something I have two or three times a week!

